top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureivy ivi

Happy New Year 2021 : New adventure!

Updated: Jan 5, 2021



A lot of things happened last year! There has been ups and downs but I wouldn’t say that 2020 was a bad year except for the Covid 19. I had a wonderful Christmas and New Year surrounded by all my loved ones!


I have been lucky and doing pretty well ever since I moved to the Netherlands! Now I will have my own place soon and excited for a new adventure in Rotterdam. I personally think that Rotterdam is a rather Americanized city with cars, wide streets, modern buildings and American food chains. I liked living in Amsterdam but I think Amsterdam has more touristy vibes than residential vibes.


I’m quite happy with my life in the Netherlands so far. One of the main reasons for that is healthy work-life balance culture in this country because a lot of people are torn between juggling workplace stress and daily pressure of family chores, but yet not many countries has achieved healthy work-life balance. However, Work-life balance is an EU employment policy priority so the European mindset and values to life is less about slaving away at work, chasing promotion and pay rises. I think my husband is quite satisfied with his work and life here too and that makes me feel happy as well!



I met some new people here and there last year and it helped me ease off my stress from my old and toxic friendship. I was struggling with some toxic people in my life over past few years but I’m at a better place in my life right now.


Also, now I know what types of people I need to have in my life. I was having trouble getting along well with some Korean people as I found them too competitive and jealousy type but of course not all of them are like that so… But I don’t have any Korean friends in the Netherlands now. It was actually kinda interesting to learn about that Korean people in Europe are quite different from Korean people who are living in North America.


It was a both interesting and crazy experience at the same time. Anyway I worked on some new year resolutions and I’m excited for another year in the Netherlands! I will keep trying to be a better person this year! I hope you guys all had a good holiday time and wish that you all have many blessings in this year!

78 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page