top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureivy ivi

Escaping the cycle of being messy at home all the time with online shopping (How ironic?)



Ok, we all know It’s not surprising that the home of a depressed person isn’t in good shape because depressed people often have a lack of motivation to do anything.


I don’t think I've ever been severely depressed in my life, but I used to be just naturally lazy and messy. The problem about being extremely lazy like a sloth is that depression and anxiety started kicking my butt.


Usually people get depressed then they don’t feel like doing anything, but for me, I was extremely lazy and messy so I started feeling a bit down and it became hard to be motivated to handle daily house chores; which led to depression and a sense of guilt all of the time.



But now, I found myself capable of keeping my place organized and this actually improves my mood. Overall, my life has changed a lot in a positive way. I am more energetic and being productive these days! I’m finally busy doing daily housework and productive things now more than in the past, even when I had a demanding and hectic job.


And here is some realistic tip that worked for me to get out of this messy and unhealthy lifestyle. I started with some stuff that I like! Such as online shopping, which is the most Korean side of me. I just bought a bunch of cleaning tools and products from Ikea, Amazon and drugstores.


Now I believe that cleaning definitely counts as a hobby. I have never had more fun cleaning in my life. Also, cleaning tools are usually not that expensive and sometime I would just buy some stuff like a lint roller or mirror wiper suddenly and it turned out to be the best purchase this year. Now, I’m vacuuming my house everyday and using my lint roller on the sofa whenever I have time and it turns out to be a little bit of exercise, which can be great for relieving stress as well.



I spent my evenings or my days making dinner and lunch, doing household chores and tried to be more organized with my life in general instead of getting delivery food 7 days a week and constantly being on the phone.


Also, I never really felt like I’m too busy to plan something with my friends or just catch up with some people on the phone or through text messages. But now, I actually have to try to make some time to do some social stuff, but I think this is a positive outcome since most of the time, I’m not in the nonstop complaining mode and can truly focus on my time with friends about better stuff.


I didn’t completely quit delivery food or some random purchases for my convenience but I’m proud that I am trying and it seems to be working out well. I’m not gonna entirely change all of my current habits because I think I will fall back to old me again if I push it too hard so I decided to accept the fact that breaking bad habits is difficult and can take some time.


I hope this post will help some of my online friends :)




538 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page